President Muhammadu Buhari sworn in Justice Olukayode Ariwoola as the acting Chief Justice of Nigeria.

President Muhammadu Buhari on Monday swore in Olukayode Ariwoola as the acting Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN).

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the swearing of Mr Ariwoola as the new CJN followed the resignation of his predecessor, Tanko Muhammad, on health grounds.

PREMIUM TIMES reported that Mr Ariwoola was the most senior Justice of the Supreme Court until Mr Muhammad’s resignation on Monday. Read more




This is to inform all Staff of the Judiciary that the 2020 Combined Promotion Examinations for eligible candidates of the Federal Courts and the Commission will be held in the six (6) Geopolitical Zones on Tuesday, 8th and Wednesday, 9th September, 2020 at the following Centres / Venues: Read more

Buhari Nominates Tanko As Substantive CJN

President Muhammadu Buhari has nominated the Acting Chief Justice of Nigeria Justice, Tanko Muhammadu, as substantive Chief Justice of Nigeria.

The National Judicial Council (NJC4e55bc9a83a394e6_0) had on Wednesday recommended Justice Ibrahim Tanko Muhammad to Buhari for confirmation as the substantive Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN).

The Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, read Tanko’s name on the floor of the Senate.

Buhari urged the Senate to accord the confirmation of Justice Muhammed speedy consideration.


The National Judicial Council rose today from an Emergency Meeting to recommend to President Muhammadu Buhari, GCFR, the appointment of Hon. Dr. Justice I. T. Muhammad, CFR, as the substantive Chief Justice of Nigeria.

The Meeting which was initially presided over by Hon. Mr. Justice Umaru Abdullahi, CON, considered and approved the recommendation of its Interview Committee that screened the two candidates presented by the Federal Judicial Service Commission, to it for appointment as Chief Justice of Nigeria. Read more

Fashola, Amaechi, Ngige, Onu others make Buhari’s ministerial list

At last, Senate President Bukola Saraki Wednesday received President Muhammadu Buhari’s ministerial list.

Ministerial listVanguard gathered that former Rivers State Governor, Rotimi Amaechi and his counterpart in Lagos, Babatunde Fashola were among the names received by the Senate President.

Others on the list are, former governors Chris Ngige of Amanbra; Ogbonaya Onu, of Abia State; Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti ; and a one time APC governorship flag bearer in Taraba, Aisha Alhassan,

Others are Amina Mohammed; A former commissioner of Ogun State, Kunle Adeosun; Malami Abubakar (SAN) and the Group MANAGING Director of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation, Ibe Kachikwu.

Kachikwu’s appointment as Vanguard reported yesterday, will be to function as the junior minister taking charge of day-to-day affairs while Buhari oversees the sector as stated in New York on Tuesday, while attending the UN General Assembly. (See more on this).

A source told Vanguard that instead of thirty – six names, President Buhari sent twenty – one names as Ministerial nominees to the Senate President, with plans to send others Tuesday next week before plenary.

Senate President Saraki received the long awaited ministerial list from the Chief of Staff, Abba Kyari at 4.59 pm.

The Chief of Staff to the President was accompanied to Saraki’s office by the Special Adviser to the President on National Assembly Matters, Senator Ita Enang.

There was a new twist to the submission of Ministerial list to the Senate as it was received directly by the Senate President and brought by the Chief of Staff to the President as against the tradition where the office of the Senate President through the registry receives it from the Special Adviser to the President on National Assembly Matter( Senate).

List of past Chief Justices of Nigeria

List of Chief Justice of Nigeria

The judicial arm of the Nigerian government consists of the Supreme Court of Nigeria, the Court of Appeals, the High Courts, and other trial courts such as the Magistrates‘, Customary, Sharia and other specialisedcourts.[1] The Chief Justice of Nigeria, abbreviated as CJN preside over the Supreme Court and thirteen associate justices, who are appointed by the president on the recommendation of the National Judicial Councilsubject to the approval of the National Assembly.[2][2]

The table below outline the List of Chief Justice of Nigeria from 1958 till date.

Chief Justice Term
Sir Edwin Speed 1914–1918
Sir Ralph Combe 1918–1929
Donald Kingdon 1929–1946
Sir John Verity 1946–1954
Sir Stafford Sutton 1955–1958
Sir Adetokunbo Ademola 1958–1972
Taslim Olawale Elias 1972–1975
Darnley Arthur Alexander 1975–1979
Atanda Fatai Williams 1979–1983
George Sodeinde Sowemimo 1983–1985
Ayo Gabriel Irikefe 1985–1987
Mohammed Bello 1987–1995
Muhammad Lawal Uwais 1995–2006
Salihu Moddibo Alfa Belgore 2006–2007
Idris Legbo Kutigi 2007–2009
Aloysius Iyorgyer Katsina-Alu 2009–2011
Dahiru Mustapher 2011–2012
Aloma Mariam Mukhtar[2][3] 2012–2014
Mahmud Mohammed 2014–2016
Walter Samuel Nkanu Onnoghen 2017–2019
Ibrahim Tanko Muhammad 2019


Privileges Committee Names New Senior Advocates of Nigeria

Privileges Committee Names New Senior Advocates of Nigeria

National Legal Adviser of APC, Dr. Muiz Adeyemi Banire

The Legal Practitioners’ Privileges Committee (LPPC) has conferred the rank of Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN) on 21 lawyers.

The list consists of 18 practising advocates, (including a female) and three from the academics.

The only female is the former Attorney General of Ogun State, Abimbola Ibironke Akeredolu.

Those from the academics are Prof. Maxwell Mickael Gidado, Dr. Tahir Mamman and Prof. Paul Oboarenegbe Idornigie. Read more

Buhari, Osinbajo slash own salaries by 50%

President Muhammadu Buhari and Vice President Yemi Osinbajo have announced their decision to take only 50 per cent of the salaries approved for
them by the Revenue Mobilisation Allocation and Fiscal Commission.

Their decision was contained in a statement made available to journalists on Friday by the Senior Special Assistant to the President on Media and Publicity, Mallam Garba Shehu.



The President’s current annual remuneration as approved by RMAFC is put at N14,058,820.00.

With this development, Buhari will be earning N7m per year throughout his four-year tenure.

Shehu said the President’s decision to cut his salary by half had been conveyed to the Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation on Friday by the Permanent Secretary of the State House, Mr. Nebolisa Emodi.

“I write to forward the completed IPPIS registration form of Mr. President and to draw your kind attention to Mr. President’s directive that only 50 per cent of his salary be paid to him,” the presidential spokesman quoted Emodi as writing in the letter with reference number PRES/81/SGF/17. Read more