List of Chief Justice of Nigeria

The judicial arm of the Nigerian government consists of the Supreme Court of Nigeria, the Court of Appeals, the High Courts, and other trial courts such as the Magistrates‘, Customary, Sharia and other specialisedcourts.[1] The Chief Justice of Nigeria, abbreviated as CJN preside over the Supreme Court and thirteen associate justices, who are appointed by the president on the recommendation of the National Judicial Councilsubject to the approval of the National Assembly.[2][2]

The table below outline the List of Chief Justice of Nigeria from 1958 till date.

Chief Justice Term
Sir Edwin Speed 1914–1918
Sir Ralph Combe 1918–1929
Donald Kingdon 1929–1946
Sir John Verity 1946–1954
Sir Stafford Sutton 1955–1958
Sir Adetokunbo Ademola 1958–1972
Taslim Olawale Elias 1972–1975
Darnley Arthur Alexander 1975–1979
Atanda Fatai Williams 1979–1983
George Sodeinde Sowemimo 1983–1985
Ayo Gabriel Irikefe 1985–1987
Mohammed Bello 1987–1995
Muhammad Lawal Uwais 1995–2006
Salihu Moddibo Alfa Belgore 2006–2007
Idris Legbo Kutigi 2007–2009
Aloysius Iyorgyer Katsina-Alu 2009–2011
Dahiru Mustapher 2011–2012
Aloma Mariam Mukhtar[2][3] 2012–2014
Mahmud Mohammed 2014–2016
Walter Samuel Nkanu Onnoghen 2017–2019
Ibrahim Tanko Muhammad 2019