Fashola, Amaechi, Ngige, Onu others make Buhari’s ministerial list

At last, Senate President Bukola Saraki Wednesday received President Muhammadu Buhari’s ministerial list.

Ministerial listVanguard gathered that former Rivers State Governor, Rotimi Amaechi and his counterpart in Lagos, Babatunde Fashola were among the names received by the Senate President.

Others on the list are, former governors Chris Ngige of Amanbra; Ogbonaya Onu, of Abia State; Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti ; and a one time APC governorship flag bearer in Taraba, Aisha Alhassan,

Others are Amina Mohammed; A former commissioner of Ogun State, Kunle Adeosun; Malami Abubakar (SAN) and the Group MANAGING Director of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation, Ibe Kachikwu.

Kachikwu’s appointment as Vanguard reported yesterday, will be to function as the junior minister taking charge of day-to-day affairs while Buhari oversees the sector as stated in New York on Tuesday, while attending the UN General Assembly. (See more on this).

A source told Vanguard that instead of thirty – six names, President Buhari sent twenty – one names as Ministerial nominees to the Senate President, with plans to send others Tuesday next week before plenary.

Senate President Saraki received the long awaited ministerial list from the Chief of Staff, Abba Kyari at 4.59 pm.

The Chief of Staff to the President was accompanied to Saraki’s office by the Special Adviser to the President on National Assembly Matters, Senator Ita Enang.

There was a new twist to the submission of Ministerial list to the Senate as it was received directly by the Senate President and brought by the Chief of Staff to the President as against the tradition where the office of the Senate President through the registry receives it from the Special Adviser to the President on National Assembly Matter( Senate).

Privileges Committee Names New Senior Advocates of Nigeria

Privileges Committee Names New Senior Advocates of Nigeria

National Legal Adviser of APC, Dr. Muiz Adeyemi Banire

The Legal Practitioners’ Privileges Committee (LPPC) has conferred the rank of Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN) on 21 lawyers.

The list consists of 18 practising advocates, (including a female) and three from the academics.

The only female is the former Attorney General of Ogun State, Abimbola Ibironke Akeredolu.

Those from the academics are Prof. Maxwell Mickael Gidado, Dr. Tahir Mamman and Prof. Paul Oboarenegbe Idornigie. Read more

Buhari, Osinbajo slash own salaries by 50%

President Muhammadu Buhari and Vice President Yemi Osinbajo have announced their decision to take only 50 per cent of the salaries approved for
them by the Revenue Mobilisation Allocation and Fiscal Commission.

Their decision was contained in a statement made available to journalists on Friday by the Senior Special Assistant to the President on Media and Publicity, Mallam Garba Shehu.



The President’s current annual remuneration as approved by RMAFC is put at N14,058,820.00.

With this development, Buhari will be earning N7m per year throughout his four-year tenure.

Shehu said the President’s decision to cut his salary by half had been conveyed to the Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation on Friday by the Permanent Secretary of the State House, Mr. Nebolisa Emodi.

“I write to forward the completed IPPIS registration form of Mr. President and to draw your kind attention to Mr. President’s directive that only 50 per cent of his salary be paid to him,” the presidential spokesman quoted Emodi as writing in the letter with reference number PRES/81/SGF/17. Read more